Talk to an agent: (201) 918-3627
Press play below to listen to our audio commercial:

The Mandatory New Jersey Auto Insurance Requirement of the State Law

New Jersey state law requires that every car owner in the state have personal injury coverage, liability coverage and uninsured motorist coverage. You are also required under the law to have your insurance card with you all the time you are behind the wheel. In case you are found driving without insurance or without proof of it, you will have to face the full force of the law.

There are different types of New Jersey auto insurance. Liability insurance entails coverage for damages caused when an accident occurs at your fault. In this case, the amount held as your liability insurance will be used to offset the expenses that may arise due to your fault. PIP or personal injury protection entails coverage for medical costs for all those involved in the accident no matter who is at fault. The other type of auto insurance required by the state law is the uninsured motorist coverage. This entails coverage in the event of an auto accident and other motorists involved that does not have sufficient New Jersey auto insurance or if he/she does not have any insurance at all.

The law in New Jersey has set certain minimum limits as a mandatory NJ auto insurance requirement and which must be adhered to.

  1. A minimum of $15,000 coverage is required for bodily injury or death for each person per accident.
  2. A $30,000 minimum coverage is mandatory for coverage of bodily injury or death to more than one person.
  3. $5,000 is required as coverage for property damage.

These are the mandatory auto insurance requirements and the minimum limits. This means one can have more coverage than the limits set by the state and is highly recommended to do so. There are also other types of coverage that are not mandatory but come in very handy in the event of an accident. However, you are not required to buy any auto insurance for cars that are not operational and also for all off road vehicles.

The auto insurance law in New Jersey is quite clear and unwavering and any motorist found going against it will face negative consequences. If found anywhere within the state of New Jersey driving without auto insurance, fines and penalties will be suffered including getting your car registration revoked and getting your driver’s license suspended for a period of up to one year. You may also have face fines of up to $1,000 and get your car impounded. In more serious situations, you may end up performing community service or even jail time.

Get yourself auto insurance in New Jersey from a reliable insurance company. To find one, all you have to do is enter your zip in the space provided above and we will provide you with the best and most reliable insurance carrier. Start right now!