Talk to an agent: (201) 918-3627
Press play below to listen to our audio commercial:

The Effects of Drunk Driving Case to the Rate of your Car Insurance in New Jersey

This is a short overview on what it means to be caught drunk driving in New Jersey. What the law has to say about it and what that will mean for your car insurance rate.

NewJerseyAutoInsuranceNew Jersey car insurance laws are one of the trickiest in the United States. Most of the drivers in New Jersey are not too familiar how the car insurance system works and are bound to get mixed up somewhere along the way. However, with some perseverance everyone can learn how to work his way through the complexity of the car insurance laws in New Jersey. As in the most of the states, car insurance is necessary have in the state of New Jersey. Even though that the state obligated the drivers to have at least “basic minimum policy” it suggests drivers instead to go for the “standard insurance policy” which comes with bigger coverage in case of an accident. With both policies it`s required from the state to have liability, personal injury and uninsured motorist coverage.

Carrying your insurance identification card is mandatory in the state of New Jersey, caught without it and you will be fined and ticketed. If the driver is caught without car insurance at all, than he can expect more severe penalties. Penalties vary from fines, community service, registration, license suspension, and in some cases even jail time. If you keep on making the same mistake, you risk your car to be impounded.

Unfortunately, for every car owner in the state, New Jersey has the second most expensive insurance rates in the country. The national average is set at $817 per year, while the New Jersey average is $1.152. In addition to the strict New Jersey insurance policy, there is no tolerance for drunk driving. The implied consent law is at force in the state of New Jersey, meaning that by driving on roads that are on the territory of New Jersey, you the driver automatically consent to a chemical test if the police officer has its suspicion that you are driving under the influence of alcohol.

For a driver in New Jersey to be considered under the influence, it needs to have a Blood alcohol content (BAC) of at least .08% or higher. In case the blood alcohol content is over .15%, then you should expect even stricter penalties. If this is your first offense, you can easily get 30 days in jail, up to $400 in fines and license suspension for up to 90 days. If you do the same mistake again, the fines can be as high as $1.000, 30 days of jail time and suspension of your license for a period from seven to twelve months. In addition to all that, any offender will need pay additional $1.000 on his insurance policy for the next three years. As far as teenage drivers caught drunk driving, the state of New Jersey has a zero-tolerance policy. Translated in plain English any teen caught with any amount of alcohol in the blood is subjected to severe penalties.

Regardless if you were caught drunk or not, finding cheap rates is a real possibility. All you need to do is to enter your zip code on the top of the page, and you will get plenty of free quotes. Once you get them, you can easily find the lowest rate of car insurance in New Jersey.