Talk to an agent: (201) 918-3627
Press play below to listen to our audio commercial:

How DWI Misdemeanor Is Changed to Felony According to Auto Insurance in New Jersey

DWI and DUI according to Auto Insurance in New Jersey are defined as driving a vehicle or operating machinery while intoxicated. The limit of intoxication is set by measuring the blood alcohol level or BAC. The legal BAC level in most states in the United States is set at 0.08 percent. Anyone found to be driving with a blood alcohol level above 0.08 percent will face charges of Driving Under the Influence.  Depending on the circumstances surrounding the arrest, the DUI can either be classified as either a misdemeanor or a felony. According to the United States federal law, a misdemeanor is a criminal offense that carries an imprisonment of one year or less. A felony, on the other hand, is an offence that carries a prison sentence of more than one year to life or even death. Once you have grasped the difference between these two, we shall now delve into how they relate to DUI and DWI.

AutoInsuranceinNJA DUI as a felony is classified as so if the drunken driver caused an accident that resulted in other persons having serious injuries or if there were any fatalities as a result of the accident. In some states, a repeat DUI offense will result in the offense being classified as a felony. Whether as a felony or misdemeanor, DWI and DUIs are not taken lightly by the law. The number of repeat DUI offences you have to make in order or the offence to be classified as a felony varies from state to state. Some states are very strict when it comes to third DUI convictions. Some of these are Alaska, Illinois and Iowa just to mention a few. However, the third DUI offence has to have additional circumstances surrounding the conviction for instance there was an accident that caused serious bodily injury or death. In Florida, on the other hand, will make your third DUI into felony if it all the three offences occurred in a span of 10 years.

Auto Insurance in New Jersey views all DUI offences as misdemeanors. This state is slightly lenient when it comes to DUI and DWI laws. But this does not mean that one should take advantage of this leniency because the law could easily make an example out of you. Realizing the difference between the Levels of a DUI conviction being a misdemeanor or Felony in your state is vital. Some states are slightly lenient while others are very tough. In this site, we are bent of giving you all the information that you will need to make sure that you are not found wanting when it comes to Auto Insurance in New Orleans.

To get more information on this and more, input your Zip at the top of this page.