Talk to an agent: (201) 918-3627
Press play below to listen to our audio commercial:

Simple Analysis of New Jersey Auto Insurance Laws and Requirements

Being a resident of the state, there are certain New Jersey auto insurance laws and requirements that everyone has to follow if they want to drive in the state. Some of these are general. This means that these laws apply to every person in the state while other specific requirements are only applicable in certain situations. You need to be well aware all auto Insurance Info in New Jersey if you want to understand the auto insurance system of New Jersey.

The first important aspect is to be aware of the type of auto insurance system prevailing in the state. This type of system is known as a “Fault system”. This suggests that if you are at fault during an accident than you have to compensate the innocent no matter how much damage you have suffered. The biggest feature of this system is the compulsion to carry minimum liability auto insurance coverage. No person is authorized to drive without this coverage. You also cannot get your vehicle registered unless you’re able to provide them the proof that you are insured and that you fulfill all the state requirements. All drivers are liable to carry with them the proof of their insurance coverage. If the driver fails to provide his auto insurance proof, they can be penalized according to New Jersey law.

Since the law prohibits any person from driving insurance, you can also get convicted for driving a rental vehicle without insurance. That is why it is also mandatory for rental cars to be covered by minimum liability. Under most of the circumstances observed in New Jersey, most of the policies automatically cover rental vehicles. In other circumstances, the rental car insurance in NJ might be covered by your credit card. Rather than making assumptions, it is best to inquire about this from your card or policy issuer. If you discover that not one of the two cover rental cars you would be required to buy it separately. Another way to do so is by simply putting your ZIP code in the box above. Within 3 minutes you will get all the information about policies and details of insurance companies in New Jersey

Similarly, there are certain regulations governing the process of filing of a claim. These mainly relate to the companies. The first duty is that they should answer your claim before the passage of 15 days after the filing and should inquire about the details of the accident. The second part related to the acceptance or rejection of a claim. This should also be done within 15 days. If your claim is rejected than they need to provide you with a reason. One can also contest their rejection. If it is accepted than they are bound by the law to pay the amount within five business days through a banking instrument. If the company is unable to follow these regulations, they need to notify the person about this and the reason behind it, although they cannot take more than 45 days.

If you wish to acquire auto Insurance Info in New Jersey, just enter your zip code and our partners will handle the rest.