Talk to an agent: (201) 918-3627
Press play below to listen to our audio commercial:

An Overview of Car Insurance Laws for Underage DUIs in New Jersey

The minimum drinking age all over the United States is set at 21 years old. In addition, one can start driving from the age of 16. A person below the age of 21 is considered a minor and is not allowed by law to drink alcohol. Usually at this age, individuals are very experimental and have wild lifestyles that will most likely involve drinking. Since the law already allows them to drive at 16 and not drink until they reach 21, there is a set blood alcohol limit for them.

A driver under the age of 21 has a maximum Blood Alcohol Concentration level of 0.01 concerning Car Insurance in NJ. There are serious ramifications for persons in this age group found to be driving with a Blood Alcohol Concentration level of 0.01 percent and above. First of all; as the law dictates; the individual will have their driver’s license suspended for roughly one year. This taint in their driving record will have long term ramifications in the future of the individual. Since most persons in this age group are living with their care givers or doing part time jobs with minimum wage, they will need to reduce their expenses a lot especially when it comes to Car Insurance in NJ. An underage DUI conviction in their record will automatically increase their insurance premiums which will cause a serious strain on their budget. This is obviously a bad start to your driving history since even though you decide to switch to a different auto insurer, with such a record you will be automatically viewed as a high insurance risk. This means that you will be paying high New Jersey auto insurance premiums for a long time to come.

Apart from a suspended license and high future auto insurance premiums, there are other aspects an underage DUI convict has to contend with. Depending on the circumstances surrounding the arrest of the individual, they may have to pay fines or even face jail time if the individual was involved in an accident that resulted in grievous damage to other individuals and or property. Moreover, you may also be required to attend court mandated drug rehabilitation programs. All of these costs are transferred to the parent in most cases, thus putting an additional financial constraint to the current economic downturn being experienced globally.

Most employers do a background check on their employees as well. It is very sad to have your first job pulled away from you just because of a prior underage DUI conviction. Starting your working career from such a note can adversely affect your future prospects. Such harsh measures are put in place to discourage young inexperienced drivers from being drawn into drunken driving whether above or below the legal drinking age.

To know more on how to avoid such instances, enter your area Zip in the slot provided at the top of this page.