Talk to an agent: (201) 918-3627
Press play below to listen to our audio commercial:

A General Overview of Auto Insurance in New Jersey

In the United States, each state has the liberty to pass their own laws especially when it comes to car insurance requirements for every driver on the road. These laws are commonly referred to as financial responsibility laws, which govern every driver in the state. When it comes to Auto Insurance in New Jersey, most drivers prefer to take up a liability cover. With liability cover in New Jersey, the law provides three different categories of liability cover to cover persons from all walks of life; financially speaking. These are – Basic, standard and self-insurance. Each of these has different requirements and come at different rates.

The cheapest of these is the Basic Liability cover. Each state has its own set of minimum liability cover, which in definition is the basic liability insurance. Basic Liability cover is designed to suit persons who have relatively low incomes and in most cases, young drivers who either are in college or have part time jobs to cater for their needs. To reduce the cost for this cover, Auto Insurance in New Jersey does not include individual physical injury cover in the package. What is however required for this cover is $10,000 for injury or death of more than one person and $5,000 to cover property damage in the event of an accident.

The other relatively affordable and most sought for in New Jersey is the Standard liability cover. Its cost is slightly higher than the state’s minimum liability rate but it has the provision for one to subscribe for additional cover if they need to. The usual rates for Standard liability cover are – $15,000 for injury or death of an individual, $30,000 for injury of death of multiple persons and $5,000 for damage to property in case of an accident. In addition to these fees, one will need to pay $15,000 for personal injury protection and another $15,000 for injury to an underinsured or uninsured driver. The first three rates are usually the minimum liability requirements in other states according to their law, but New Jersey car insurance is slightly different.

The third, which is Self Insurance is reserved for persons who have 25 vehicles or more registered under their name. Just as the definition suggests this cover is mostly used by businesspersons since it is rare to find an individual with such many cars for their own use. To be sure or confident on which cover to take up, make sure to do enough research on what is available and best for you as you compare insurance quotes. There are numerous cheap offers available but without proper research, you will not find one that best suits your auto insurance needs as well as not being too strenuous on your budget. On taking up car insurance in New Jersey, you will either be provided with a certificate of self-insurance or an auto insurance ID card, which you will be, required to show a police officer whenever you are pulled over. To find out more on Auto Insurance in New Jersey, input your Zip code in the space provided at the top of this page.