Talk to an agent: (201) 918-3627
Press play below to listen to our audio commercial:

A Further Look into New Jersey Auto Insurance Requirements

New Jersey auto insurance has specific types of auto insurance and detailed amounts as indicated under the law. It is imperative that people especially motorists in the state understand full what is required of them by the law in matters auto insurance. Here are a few pointers on what the law expects of you when you want to be a legit driver anywhere within the state line of New Jersey.

Statutory Requirements

The law of the state requires that all drovers have liability insurance, personal injury protection insurance and uninsured motorist insurance. These might sound a bit different from the requirements from the other states but in essence, all are quite essential. You must be able to provide proof that you have such kind of insurance at anytime. Law enforcement officers are mandated by law to ask for a show of such proof at anytime you are driving. In short, you are supposed to carry your New Jersey auto insurance card with you anytime you are driving because the law enforcement officers could pull you over and ask for the proof. Failure to show that you indeed have the auto insurance coverage stipulated under the law will lead to unwanted consequences.

Types of Insurance Required In New Jersey

In the basic or minimum requirements, the state requires of you, liability insurance will cover the damage you cause in case of an accident. This applies if you are the party that caused the accident. Personal injury protection takes care of all the medical bills and other related costs arising from the accident. It is however noteworthy that New Jersey is a no fault state which means personal injury protection covers both parties no matter who was responsible for causing the accident. Uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage is also mandatory and will come into play in case you are involved in an accident whereby the other party is not insured or they have inadequate insurance. Also worth note is that if such an event occurs and the limit of the underinsured motorist is exhausted, then personal injury protection comes into play.

Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements in New Jersey

The minimum requirement for bodily injury for one person is $15,000, $30,000 for bodily injury or death to more than one person and $5,000 for property damage.

On the other hand, you are not required to have insurance for vehicles that are not in operational condition and all the off-road vehicles. Fines for violations can go up to $1,000 in addition to legal repercussions such as community service or a jail term in more serious situations.

For more information on New Jersey car insurance laws and for free car insurance quote from licensed carriers, please enter your zip code above. You will get results in a matter of seconds.