Talk to an agent: (201) 918-3627
Press play below to listen to our audio commercial:

4 Requirements of the New Jersey Car Insurance Laws You Have to Know Before Purchasing a Policy

The laws surrounding auto insurance in New Jersey are quite clear and strict. Failure to adhere and observe them will only lead to severe punitive measures for you to be economically depleted. In serious matters, it may mean jail terms or community service for a period of time deemed fit for your violation. You are wise to carry proof that you have auto insurance coverage at all times while driving anywhere in New Jersey to avoid law violation.

Here are the requirements of New Jersey car insurance. While purchasing car insurance in the state, you might want to have all these facts in mind.

Property damage liability

This is a mandatory requirement and the state has put the minimum limit at $5,000. In case you cause damage to property e.g. a car, building, fence or even any legal charges that may arise from such an unfortunate incident, then your property damage liability will protect you from these costs and cover for the damage.

Bodily/physical injury cover

The law of the state requires that you carry a minimum of $15,000 for bodily or physical injury or death you cause to one person for every accident and $30,000 for bodily injury or death you cause to more than one person for every accident you cause.

Personal injury protection cover

Also a major requirement by the New Jersey car insurance laws, you are required as motorist in the state to have such coverage at a minimum of $15,000. What this protection offers is a cover for all costs that come about as a result of such expenses as medical cost for injuries sustained in the event of an accident. This is a mandatory requirement unlike most of the other states in our great nation.

cheapcarinsuranceinNJ

Uninsured or underinsured motorist cover

Also a major requirement under the law, uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage that will protect you in case you are involved in an accident in which the other party that does not have or not sufficient auto insurance coverage for the costs. In essence, the amount is not usually specific but will be equivalent to the amounts of the other liabilities insurance cover.

The law will only serve as a guideline to what you require but not an ultimate buffer. You will need to buy a New Jersey car insurance coverage to be on the safe side. You may want to look into policies such as comprehensive, collision and the likes.

Just enter your zip code in the form above and get more tips and information on the law requirements of New Jersey. It is a simple process that will leave you more educated and informed to make the right choice.